Standards Related Acronyms
International Standards Bodies
National Standards Bodies 

Note: In the following list: (NAA) means "Not an Acronym" and (FA) means "Foreign Acronym".
All of the links were verified as of 5/6/2008.

ACM - Association for Computing Machinery 
AEA - American Electronics Association 
ADPA - American Defense Preparedness Association - Now the NDIA National Defense Industrial Association  
AFNOR - (FA) French 
National Standards Body 
AIA - Aerospace Industries Association 
AIM USA - Automatic Identification Manufacturers of America 
AJPO - Ada Joint Program Office 
AMRA - Automatic Meter Reading Association 
ANA - Association of Naval Aviators 
ANS - American National Standard 
ANSI - American National Standards Institute 
ASC - Accredited Standards Committee 
ASME - American Society for Mechanical Engineers 
ASTM - American Society for Test and Manufacturing 
ATIS - Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions [Previously ANSI T1)
ATSC - Advanced TV Systems Committee 
BSI - British Standards Institution 
CANENA - (FA) NAFTA Regional Standards Body 
CBEMA - Computer Business Equipment Manufacturers Association (Now ITIC
CEN - (FA) European Committee for Standardization (a European Regional Standards Body) 
CENELEC (FA) European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization (a European Regional Electrical Standards Body) 
COPANT - (FA) Pan American Standards Commission (a South American Regional Standards Body) 
COS - Committee on Open Systems 
CS - Computer Society 
CSA - Canadian Standards Association 
CTIA - Cellular Telecommunications Industries Association 
DAVIC - Digital Audio Visual Interchange Council 
DGN - (FA) Mexican National Standards Body 
DIN - (FA) German National Standards Body 
DKE - (FA) German National Electrical Standards Body 
DVB - (European) Digital Video Broadcast (Project) 
DoD - Department of Defense 
ECMA - European Computer Manufacturers Association 
EDIF - Electronic Data Interchange Format 
EIA - Electronic Industries association 
EIAJ - Electronic Industries Association of Japan 
EIDX - Electronic Industry Data Exchange 
EPA - Environmental Protection Agency 
ETSI - European Telecommunications Standards Institute 
EU - European Union 
EWOS - European Workshop for Open Systems 
FCC - Federal Communications Commission 

FTAA - Free Trade Area of the Americas
GATT - General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade 
GII - Global Information Infrastructure 
GOST - (FA) Russian Federation National Standards Body 
ICAITI - (FA) Central American Regional Standards Body  - see FTAA - Free Trade Area of the Americas
IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission 
IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers 
IES - Institute of Environmental Sciences 
IETF - Internet Engineering Task Force 
IFIP - International Federation of Information Processing 
IITF - Information Infrastructure Task Force 
IrDA - Infrared Data Association 
ISA - Instrument Society of America (Now the International Society for Measurement and Control) 
ISDN - Integrated Services Digital Network 
ISO - (NAA) International Organization for Standardization 
ISSP - Information Infrastructure Standards Panel (ANSI committee) 
ITA - International Teleconferencing Association 
ITI - Information Technology Industry Council (No, it's not ITIC) 
ITSA - Intelligent Transportation Society 
of America 
ITU - International Telecommunication Union 
JISC - (FA) Japanese National Standards Body 
JPEG - Joint Photographic Experts Group 
JTC1 - ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee 1 for Information Technology 
MITI - Ministry of International Trade and Industry (Japanese Ministry) 
NAFTA - North 
American Free Trade Association 
NAM - National Association of Manufacturers 
NB - National Body (responsible for developing national positions for international voting) 
NCITS - National Committee for Information Technology Standards (previously ASC X3) 
NEMA - National Electrical Manufacturers Association 
NFPA - National Fire Protection Association 
NII - National Information Infrastructure 
NIIT - National Institute on Information Technology 
NISO - National Information Standards Organization 
NIST - National Institute for Standards and Technology 
NNI - Netherlands National Standards body 
NSIA - National Security Industrial Association - - Now the NDIA National Defense Industrial Association
NSSN - National Standards System Network 
OMG - Object Management Group 
OUI - Organizationally Unique Identifier 
PASC - Pacific Area Standards Commission - Pacific Rim Regional Standards body 
PCMCIA - PC Memory Card International Association 
RAB - ANSI Registration Accreditation Board 
RAC - IEEE Registration Authority for Organization Unique Identifier and Company Identifier Authority Committee 
SAA - (FA) Standards Australia (Australian National Standards Body) 
SAE - Society of Automotive Engineers (Automotive=anything that moves) 
SCC - (FA) Standards Council of Canada (Canadian National Standards Body) 
SDO - Standards Developing Organization
SIA - Semiconductor Industries Association 
SIS - (FA) Swedish National Standards Body 
SMPTE - Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers 
T1 - (NAA) - Accredited Standards Committee for Telecommunications. [administered by ATIS but is now retired committee) 
TAG - Technical Advisory Group (develops the US Position on international issues) 
TIA - Telecommunications Industries Association 
UL - Underwriters Laboratories 
UNEP - United Nations Environmental Program 
USNB - US National Body (to the IEC) 
WTO - World Trade Organization 
WWWO - World Wide Web Organization 
X-Open - (NAA) Consortia for open X-Windows development 
X3 - (NAA) - Accredited Standards Committee for Information Technology (Now NCITS
XIWT - Cross Industry Working Team (on NII)